PAUL RAACKOW: Mi Refugio WW 302-2


is largely made up of arrangements for the instrument which takes centre stage in tango music, the bandoneon. Paul Raackow`s bandoneon style is largely characterised by 'tango cancions', or tango songs, arranged by renowned Argentinean bandoneon players whose very own personal interpretations of the original compositions have resulted in compact and expressive miniature versions. 'Mi Refugio' tells the story of a very intimate tango, for the player and his instrument only - a 'secret' tango which only confides its story of loss and sadness in a good friend. Pumped into the circulation by a bandoneon which releases a flow of music from its core like a cuttlefish ejects its fluid.

On this CD Paul Raackow has, above all, recorded his interpretations of arrangements by Leopoldo Federico and Astor Piazzolla. Federico arranged Caminito, among others, one of Argentina's best known tangos. This composition is related, in a transfigured form, to a street by the same name in the Buenos Aires dock area 'La Boca'. Besides, the arrangement of Che Bandoneon was culled from his pen, a tango which tells the story of a bandoneon as an understanding friend. In collaboration with Felix Lipesker, Federico arranged Mala Junta and El Irrestistible, two classics from the early period of tango. They rank among the few arrangements for solo bandoneon that have been issued as recordings. Un Fueye en Paris is an original composition of Federico - a tango dedicated to the bandoneon player Juan José Mosalini, who lives in Paris. Bandola Zurdo was arranged together with Raul Garello, a theme which brings the bandoneon`s dark bass registers to the fore.

The fact that Piazzolla`s arrangements also included works for solo bandoneon is not so well known. The tenors of the three compositions selected here are exaggerated by the drama of the arrangement. Full of longing and remorsefulness the music stops off at the Home of the Parents - La Casita de mis Viejos. Tenderness and desire are the subject of the pondering about the girl who is to follow the social disapproval experienced by The Lady of the Camillias - Margarita Gauthier, and a desire to die dominates the wish for a final shelter - Mi Refugio. A composition by Piazzolla, arranged by the somewhat more traditional Maximo Mori, supplements the selection of works by Piazzolla on this CD: Nonino, an early theme of the Tango Nuevo, later followed by 'Adios Nonino', a similarity not only of title, but also theme. A feeling of loss, loneliness and sadness, often the subjects chosen for tangos, are dealt with in Mi Noche Triste - the sad night. This tango, the first to be sung, dating back to 1918 and which ranks among Argentina's most famous, was arranged for bandoneon by Calderazo.

The arrangement of Los Mareados by Daniel Binelli draws strongly on the style adopted by Piazzolla. Binelli, who played in Piazzolla`s last ensemble, emanates from the generation which, since the 1960s, contributed to the profile enjoyed by tango music. A similar role was played by Rodolfo Mederos, who is the foster-father of many bandoneon players, and who arranged the only Milonga on this recording, Milonga de mis Amores.

This collection of arrangements for solo bandoneon also includes two tango waltzes: Anselmo Aieta composed and arranged the 'vals criollo' Palomita Blanca and the country pet name Nininé is given to a 'tango vals' written by Osvaldo Montes.

1. Mala Junta...3.23
2. Un Fueye en Paris...2.54
3. El Irresistible...2.43
4. Nonino...3.03
5. Caminito...3.05
6. Mi Refugio...1.58
7. Milonga de mis amores...2.39
8. Bandola Zurdo...3.20
9. Mi Noche triste...3.24
10. Los Mareados...3.18
11. Ninine...2.41
12. Margarita Gauthier...1.51
13. Che Bandoneon...3.28
14. La Casita de mis viejos...1.57
15. Palomita blanca...2.16


for booking and further information have a look at the

Homepage of Tango Real Quartett !




Home Tango RealPuro ApronteOrder